EPNOE 2013: "Polysaccharides and polysaccharide-derived products, from basic science to applications", 21-24 October 2013

Scope of the conference

EPNOE and the Cellulose and Renewable Materials Division of the American Chemical Society (ACS) decided in 2011 to join their efforts in promoting basic and applied sciences of polysaccharides by organising common events. The 3rd EPNOE conference, EPNOE 2013, is one of these events organised by EPNOE and ACS. It will be held in Nice Acropolis Convention Center, Nice, France, on 21-24 October 2013 (new dates).

Polysaccharides are vital polymers for all aspects of the life of human beings, used for health care and food and in a large variety of materials, especially owing to the huge development of bio-based products. They are at the forefront of most research due to their renewable character and their low carbon footprint. However, due to the complexity of their synthesis in Nature, to the difficulty in dis-assembling them, to the highly multidisciplinary character of polysaccharide research and to the very large variety of applications, there is a need for organizing events where all the needed scientific specialties will meet.

EPNOE and ACS are expecting EPNOE 2013 conference to be a forum bringing together academic, industrial, and government scientists and students dealing with polysaccharides and polysaccharide-derived products. Many disciplines including biologists, chemists, physicists, food specialists, technologists, environmentalists will meet and gain knowledge about the interdisciplinary world of polysaccharide science.

Special guests and Plenary lecturers

Special guests:

 - Thomas Heinze (University of Jena, Germany). EPNOE scientist. ACS Anselme Payen awardee 2010.
 - Hans-Peter Fink (Fraunhofer Society, Gölm, Germany). EPNOE scientist. ACS Anselme Payen awardee 2012

Plenary lecturers:
 - Herman Höfte (INRA, Versailles, France) - Biosynthesis
 - Yoshiyuki Nishio (Kyoto University, Japan) - Biomass-based materials
 - Bruce Hamaker (Purdue University, USA) - Food
 - Rolando Barbucci (Siena University, Italy) - Health
Keynote and Invited lecturers
Keynote lectuters:
- Gudmund Skjak-Braek (Norwegian University of Science and Technology, Norway)
- Thomas Rosenau (University of Natural Ressources and Applied Sciences, Austria)
- Kevin Edgar (Virginia Tech, USA)
- Jay-Lin Jane (Iowa State University, USA)
- Redouane Borsali (CERMAV, France)
- Vincent Bulone (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
- Didier Letourneur (INSERM, France)
- Vincent Edwards (Agricultural Research Service, USA)
- Herbert Sixta (Aalto University, Finland)
- Akira Isogai (University of Tokyo, Japan)
- Elisabete Frollini (University of São Paulo, Brazil)
- Shabbir H. Gheewala (King Mongkut’s University of Technology Thonburi KMUTT, Thailand)
- Karin Stana-Kleinschek (University of Maribor, Slovenia)
- Pedro Fardim (Abo Akademi University, Finland)

Invited lecturers:
- Stephen Eichhorn (University of Exeter, UK)
- Lars Berglund (KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Sweden)
- Ang Lu (Wuhan University, China)
- Luigi Capuzzi (Novamont, Italy)
- Ed de Jong (Avantium, Netherlands)
- Jacques Mazoyer (Cargill, Frace)
- Janusz Kapuśniak (Jan Dlugosz University, Poland)
- André Lehmann (Frauenhofer Institute for Applied Research, Germany)

Conference Venue

The conference will take place in the newly restored Acropolis Congress Hall of Nice situated in the heart of the old city, at a few hundred meters from the Mediterranean Sea. Nice offers a huge capacity of hotels of all standards and has the second international airport in France after Paris, connected directly to more than 100 destinations in the World.

It is ideally located between the high mountains of Alps and sea, with a very comfortable climate in September.

Nice being a very popular destination, especially in Summer, the organizing committee is suggesting you to plan your stay well in advance, in particular for booking your flight and accommodation.

Important dates

  •     15 March 2013: Opening of abstract submission
  •     21 July 2013: Extended deadline for submitting abstracts
  •     10 September 2013: Extended deadline for early registration

This conference is organised by the Materials Forming Center (CEMEF) of Mines ParisTech / Armines / CNRS.


Other information



International Scientific Committee

Maria Christina Area
Rolando Barbucci (Italy)
Thomas Bechtold (Austria)
Carmen Boeriu (Netherlands)
Redouane Borsali (France)
Alain Buléon (France)
Vincent Bulone (Sweden)
Danuta Ciechanska (Poland)
Lubbert Dijkhuizen
Vince Edwards (USA)
Hans Peter Fink (Germany)
Alfred French (USA)
Elisabete Frollini (Brasil)
Shiyu Fu (China)
Robert Gilbert (Australia)
Neil Gow (United Kingdom)
Candace Haigler (USA)
Stephen Harding
(United Kingdom)
Thomas Heinze (Germany)
Akira Isogai (Japan)
Tetsuo Kondo (Japan)
Nina Kotelnikova (Russia)
Janne Laine (Finland)
Didier Letourneur (France)
Sheila Murphy (USA)
Yoshiuki Nishio (Japan)
Martin Patel (Netherlands)
Berit Smestad Paulsen
Jaime Rodrigues (Chile)
Orlando Rojas (USA)
Thomas Rosenau (Austria)
Bodo Saake (Germany)
Etienne Schacht (Belgium)
Henk Schols (Netherlands)
Sevda Senel (Turkey)
Maija Tenkanen (Finland)
Lina Zhang (China)

EPNOE-ACS Committee

Pedro Fardim (Finland), Chairperson
Kevin Edgar (ACS, USA)
John Finley (ACS, USA)
Tim Foster (UK) 
Bruce Hamaker (ACS, USA)
Anton Huber (Austria)
Karin Stana-Kleinschek (Slovenia)
Valeria Harabagiu (Romania)

Local Organizing Committee

Patrick Navard, Chairperson
Noelle Billon
Tatiana Budtova
Florence Morcamp
Julie Navard
Edith Peuvrel-Disdier
Rudy Valette
Bruno Vergnes

Download the third circular:

EPNOE 2013 3rd Circular

Online user: 1 RSS Feed